Bullseye: Guardsmen Win Small Arms Shooting Titles

NGAUS Washington Report
March 27, 2018

The National Guard captured the top individual and team awards during the 2018 U.S. Army Small Arms (“All Army”) Championship at Fort Benning, Georgia, earlier this month.

The Guard sent 11 teams to challenge 26 active-component Army and Army Reserve teams. The Missouri Guard took the team championship, and Sgt. Justus Densmore with the Texas Guard was the M-1 Grand individual champion.

“My guys put in a lot of work on their own time before the match,” said Staff Sgt. Michael Richey, the Missouri Guard team captain. “They got out of it what they put in.”

Six of the 11 states placed in the top three of each category. The Guard teams that took home first, second or third were Illinois, Iowa, Missouri, North Dakota, Vermont and Wisconsin. Each team consisted of a four-man squad competing with primary and secondary weapon systems.

Missouri placed within the top three overall teams for every team category during this competition.

“All Army was just our warmup,” said Richey, the team captain. “We’re bringing the same team to the Winston P. Wilson Matches.”

The Winston P. Wilson National Championship is hosted by the National Guard Marksmanship Training Center and is like the All Army, but is solely between the Army and Air National Guard from the 54 states and territories.

The WPW will be held April 28 to May 3 at Robinson Maneuver Training Center, North Little Rock, Arkansas.